One more month to go!

There are officially 4 weeks left before I am in Buenos Aires! Half of me is so excited and the other half still doesn’t believe it’s happening. I’ve been waiting for this trip ever since I was a sophomore in high school, so it’s crazy that it’s finally about to happen.

I took a look at my packing list today – I am allowed to check 2 large suitcases. This may sound like a lot, but I have to pack for the changes in seasons while I am abroad – this includes winter, summer, and rainy weather. Zoinks! Those of you who know me well know that my biggest issue packing will likely be my restrictions on the amount of pairs of shoes that I am allowed to bring with me. I can take one pair of sneakers, one pair of flats, one pair of nice/dressy/going out shoes, one pair of sandals, and one pair of rainboots. This is such a struggle! I’m scared to think about packing, because I also have to pack for school while I pack for Argentina. Depending on my experience abroad, I may or may not extend my stay. Even if I don’t, my return ticket is set for December 17th, and school starts again in the beginning of January, so I need to be all packed and ready to return to Elon essentially about a week and a half after I get back!

I got a great recommendation from an Elon student who is abroad right now in Buenos Aires for the host family she is staying with. This made me feel a little better, and I may shoot an email to the program coordinators to see what I can do about trying to request a host family! I’m still nervous about going into my homestay COMPLETELY blindly…that does not bode well for me.

As I check things off of the checklist provided by the program and begin to draft a checklist of my own (similar, although likely much longer…oops), I’m trying to predict what sorts of things I need to pack. But it’s hard to keep in mind that I have absolutely no idea what kinds of things I’m going to encounter while abroad! Hopefully I’ll somehow be able to pack efficiently and successfully!

xoxo

Genevieve

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

