vincent van de goya

Don’t worry, I know it’s actually Vincent Van Gogh! Today, 2 of my friends and I went to the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes in another part of the city! We got there earlier than it opened, so we explored around a little bit and went to see the giant solar-powered famous tulip. Then we grabbed some lunch (burgers – good ones) and spent an hour or so in the museum! It was smaller than we expected, but it included paintings by Van Gogh, Monet, Francisco de Goya, and even El Greco!! I felt like such an art history buff recognizing names like Goya and El Greco from Spanish IV junior year of high school 🙂

One of my friends, Erin, is super tall by Argentine standards. There was a group of younger kids who stared at her and started whispering and pointing at her! It was hilaaaarious, and she said that it’s happened before, too! Somehow, the 3 of us made a calm day in an art museum a hysterical event, freely being our spastic selves.

After some classy painting perusing, we headed back to the area around FLACSO and got some tea and donuts (had 2 – whatever, I walk around a lot, and yes, I will keep telling myself that). At 4:30 I had my first class of the semester! It was my service learning seminar, and since we haven’t started the service yet, we spent most of class introducing ourselves and talking about our aims for the course this semester. Our professor also gave us a short overview about what our final portfolio should look like, and assigned some reading for class in 2 weeks (we don’t have class next week!).

I also finally picked up my clothes today! It was eighteen pesos for my loads, which is less than 5 bucks! Pretty sweet deal, and they were all folded, too!

Tomorrow is my first class at UCA (Pontificia Universidad Católica Argentina), Cristología y Eclesiología! Wish me luck, I’m going native!

xoxo,

Genevieve

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “vincent van de goya

  1. Mom

    Good luck! I don’t think you’ll really need it though. Enjoy Argentina!

Leave a Reply

