HONEY, i’m home

This blog post is all about food. Prepare yourselves.

I’ve described quite a lot about my life in general here, but I haven’t gotten into the skinny of it, which, ironically, turns out to be food, food, and more food. So I’m going to go about describing my favorite foods here, which I will be craving insanely when (if? just kidding…) I come back in December.

Empanadas

Humita, ham and cheese, beef, chicken. You name it, I love it. I can eat 3 empanadas in one sitting and be totally stuffed, but still have them every single day. There is something about the beef empanadas here – they put something in them – egg? Peppers? Something that gives it a wonderful KICK of flavor (compared to the rest of the food which I wouldn’t necessarily say is bland, but just has a little less flavor) that makes a carne empanada the perfect solution to hunger.

Dulce De Leche

Ah-mazing. If you’ve never had it, you haven’t lived. Needless to say, I’ll be bringing back TUBS of this amazing stuff from Argentina. And the dulce de leche here is nothing like the junk we get in tin cans for $5 at the Hispanic foods store in the states. This is the real stuff. Smooth, creamy, spreadable, and delicious, this spread/dessert/goes-with-any-snack yumminess confuses me even more as to how these people stay so tiny!

Cheese

What you’d normally order in a restaurant: Mozzarella, Parmesan, Swiss, Cheddar, American, Provolone, etc. What you order and get here: Cheese. Just Cheese. You prefer Swiss? Sorry, you’re getting Cheese. Cheese is the ENORMOUS (not kidding, probably about a square foot) hunk of dairy that is sitting in my fridge. Every morning, there is a smaller block chopped off of this huge Cheese for us to have with breakfast. It is delicious. I haven’t even been craving the low-fat part-skim mozzarella string cheese sticks I usually eat by the dozen. This cheese is good enough to just be Cheese and forget that there are options.

Honey

The star of the show! Now, I love honey. I love it on a sandwich, I love it in my tea, I just love the stuff. So imagine my surprise when I had honey that was different from anything I’ve ever tried before. The honey here is phenomenal. It’s very grainy and thick – it spreads, but not very easily. It comes in a jar, and you can use a knife to get it out (think the consistency of organic peanut butter). Honey is probably the thing I will miss most when (again, if?) I’m back. I’ve had a few different types of honey, but let me tell you – THIS is the real stuff.

Pomelo

I’m not at all a fan of grapefruit. But grapefruit soda? Delish. It is so refreshing, and has a great aftertaste. Give me pomelo and a tub of pochoclos (Palomitas? Poporopos? Popcorn.) and I turn into a machine capable of consuming endless amounts of snacks and soda.

So, all this talk about food actually helps lead into my day yesterday. There are 6 words that perfectly describe the aftermath of the 6 hours of dancing I did yesterday: My. Whole. Body. Is. In. Pain.

I had a Jazz class at 8, which means I was up at 7 am! The class was 2 hours long, after which I returned home (IUNA, the arts school, is about a 15-minute walk from my house) for a bit to cool down and grab a snack. From 12-2, I had a Modern class. Went home afterwards again! Grabbed some lunch and hopped on the colective about an hour later to go to FLACSO for my Culture/Communication  in Buenos Aires seminar. That ended at 7, after which I walked straight to my Afro Yoruba (Orixas) dance class, 7:30-9:30. Whew! That class is about 8-10 blocks away from my house, which is practically nothing, so I walked home to cool down. Dinner around 11, and then I helped my host brother with his English homework for a while! All in all, a TOTALLY exhausting day. But I did love all of my dance classes! So with all of the changes going on, here is my new (and completely final, I promise this time) schedule:

Monday:

Jazz ~ 8-10

Modern ~ 12-2

Work with Madres ~ 3-5 (tentatively)

Tuesday:

Grammar ~ 10-1

Service Learning Seminar ~ 4:30-6

Wednesday: 

Jazz ~ 8-10

Modern ~ 12-2

Seminar on Living/Learning in Buenos Aires ~ 4-7

Afro Yoruba, Orixas ~ 7:30-9:30

Thursday:

Work with Madres ~ 2-4 or 3-5

Friday:

Nothing 🙂

Despite my insanely busy Wednesday and my fairly busy Monday, having no class on Thursdays or Fridays is worth it, in my mind. I like being busy, but also having those days to do all my work and relax will be phenomenal! In terms of a busy schedule being related to food, the fact that I’ll be dancing for at least 10 hours a week (because this doesn’t count the tango classes I may be taking every once in a while) means that I will eat whatever I want, whenever I want, and not feel the least bit bad about it.

Bon appetit!

xoxo,

Genevieve

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

