dancing through life

Those of you who have been following along with me throughout the semester know that I’ve been taking a plethora of dance classes here in Buenos Aires (3 to be exact, 10 hours a week). One might think I’m not getting a tangible “cultural” education; au contraire, I’ve been applying the vocabulary I’m learning in my dance classes to my day-to-day experience in the city, and I’d like to share it with everyone. So here are a list of words and terms I’ve learned in my dance classes and the best way to apply them to life.

Estira, estira, estira, estira…

“Stretch, stretch, stretch, stretch…” – Stretch your mind, body, and spirit. Pushing myself to stretch outside of the limits helps me encounter my famous adventures and learn things I might not have had I stayed in my comfort zone.

¡Me quedo ahí! ¡Me quedo, me quedo!

“Hold it right there! Hold it, hold it!” – Even when times get tough, I’ve had to learn (sometimes the hard way) to just push through and hold on, even when everything seems to be going wrong. Things turn up eventually!

Rebota

“Bounce/Rebound” – When the going gets tough, the tough get going! I’ve learned that you have to fall down before you can bounce back up and learn from your experiences.

Sacar la cola

“Straighten your back/tailbone” – Grow a backbone! Things won’t always go the way you want them to, so suck it up and move on with your day.

Afloja

“RELAX” – We wouldn’t get anywhere if we spent our hours rethinking everything. When it happens, it happens, and life goes on. Especially in a culture so different, the best way to learn is to relax and let life happen to you.

Through my physically (mentally, and spiritually) demanding experience, I’ve found that applying my dance vocabulary to my day-to-day life does, indeed, teach me a little more than I would have expected. ¡Gracias, IUNA!

stretching (literally) in Jujuy

xoxo,

Genevieve

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

