the show must go on

Just in case you thought my weekend couldn’t get any classier, what with all of the culture I’ve been absorbing, I went to the ballet tonight! It was the ballet Manon, and none of us looked up the story beforehand – not the wisest idea, as we were fairly stumped for most of it, but it was still lovely! The Teatro Colón was obviously where we saw it (go big or go home), and we had seats in the section called paraíso. Pretty self-explanatory, but we were on the very highest level, closest to the beautifully painted ceiling and the chandelier.

A few of my girlfriends and I got dressed up and had a lovely evening out, but were still back in time for dinner. I just love my family more and more every single day, if that’s even possible! I can’t believe I have 5 weeks left. I want to cry just thinking about it. As I try to not focus on thoughts of home, they still somehow creep into my mind every single day. I’m trying not to think about it too much, because as they say, the show must go on, and I’ll be able to think about home when I’m home, so right now, I’m trying as hard as possible to focus on this wonderful country I’m in (and the beautiful, beautiful Spanish I take for granted every time I speak it – sorry Central American friends, but rioplatense Spanish now has my heart).

One last week of classes before finals, and then Uruguay for Thanksgiving!

Things to look forward to this week: not spending a single cent because I want to save up for Bariloche, going to my Zumba class at the gym, beautiful weather, the rest of my big bag of M&Ms.

Mountains (more like small plateaus) to climb this week: pushing through my final dance classes, going to my Zumba class at the gym, getting back a big exam in my Grammar class, trying not to eat all of the M&Ms in one sitting.

Pictures from the ballet are below!

xoxo,

Genevieve

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “the show must go on

  1. Mom

    If Manon, is short for Manon of the spring, its got to be really good. We watched the movie years ago, loved it. Enjoy the rest of the time in BA. I’m glad you are making the most of it. Love to your host family and to you.
    xoxoxox
    Mom

Leave a Reply

