lost in translation

One of the things that has constantly irked me, throughout the duration of my entire semester, is when natives try to talk to me and my friends in English. Now, I understand that they want to practice their English, but this is not a vacation for me. Not to be rude, but I came to this country to practice my Spanish, not to help others practice English (and if I wanted to do the latter, it’s fairly simple to find Argentines who want English tutoring). Luckily, it doesn’t happen to me too often, but every once in a while, I’ll get frustrated with hearing English that I don’t understand due to a thick Argentine accent.

Today was a jackpot day in terms of hearing English. Erin and I went to buy our bus tickets for Bariloche and to go change some Argentine pesos into Uruguayan pesos (which they didn’t let us do because we’re extranjeras which is rude because we’re technically residents). We decided to reward ourselves with pizza and a late lunch out at a nice restaurant. Our waiter quickly figured out we were from the States, and here begins the fun.

He started out with repeating, “sorry,” every time he came to our table. “Sorrysorrysorry,” as he brought us plates, with a, “sorrysorrysorry,” as he served us bread, and another “sorrysorrysorry,” as he brought us water. We remained silent, as we did not know the proper response to something as bizarre as what appeared to be profuse apologies for doing his job. As if this were not awkward enough, he walked away the third time, telling us that we had no sense of humor. I’m sorry, were you making a joke, sir? Last time I checked, “sorrysorrysorry” was not the punch line of a joke, unless our lunch was a joke, in which case, the punch line comes next.

When he came over with the pizza, as Erin and I were chatting, he interrupted us with a (prepare yourselves), “Shut up! Shut up! Shut up!” We were so taken aback that we immediately stopped talking and avoided eye contact at ALL costs so that we did not burst into giggles right then and there. The waiter served us our pizza, walked away, and we immediately broke down into silent laughter.

Maybe it was the end of school that made us so giggly today, but it was a wonderful and laughter-filled afternoon, that’s for sure! 8:30 PM and I still haven’t packed for Uruguay tomorrow! Here’s our agenda:

Punta del Este, Uruguay: With NINE girls. 4 days, 4 nights, Thanksgiving dinner, and a house on the beach.

Montevideo, Uruguay: With Amber, Erin, and our friend Sam. 2 days, 2 nights, a private room for 4, and a central location.

Colonia, Uruguay: With the 3 listed above. 1 day, and a lot of exploring to do!

I haven’t been out of the city in SIX WEEKS, so this is definitely a necessary 6 nights away to be able to appreciate my darling Buenos Aires. Be prepared for lots of heavy reading and photo viewing when I return, because there will most certainly be an increase of blog posts due to my inevitable Uruguayan adventures!

xoxo,

Genevieve

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “lost in translation

  1. Mom

    Enjoy your trip. Happy Thanksgiving!!! We’ll miss you, as we sample the fare. However, we shall have our own when you return. Much love and be safe in your travels, and on the beach. xoxoxo Mom

Leave a Reply

